A trip to the local park…

Recently, I went on a school trip to my local park to take samples of the stream water, calculate flow rate and biodiversity etc. After we finished, I had some time to just wander around and have a look by myself. I’m not normally a ‘nature’ person, I don’t make an effort to go on weekly hikes and I don’t watch Countryfile so I never thought to go for a walk in the park. But it was SO lovely. Just having my headphones on listening to music (Deep Focus – Spotify playlist) whilst admiring the beautiful weather, the trees and streams, I genuinely felt at peace. I hadn’t even realised that I was stressed or a bit under the weather, but when I was walking I could just feel it all melting away. I seriously recommend at least once a week/or every other week you take a long walk in your local park (a big one ideally or your local woods if you can find it online) BY YOURSELF. I feel that if you walk with another person you will slowly lose focus on the nature around you and your own mood/thoughts focusing on the other person, which kind of ruins the point of it. Of course it is up to you, the local woods can be a great place to walk and talk with someone you’ve felt you’ve lost touch with in recent times – and want to talk to without interruption or noise.

I have confessed that I haven’t exactly been doing this for long but I am definitely going to make an effort to do this more often, particularly as the weather in the UK has been wonderful in the past month.

IMG_0286IMG_0280.JPGIMG_0302 2.jpg

These are a couple of photos I took during the walk that I thought were interesting. I hope you found this post helpful and try it out, walks in the woods are SO underrated!

Bye for now 😉

Leave a Reply

